San Joaquin
Local Agency Formation Commission              
509 West Weber Avenue, Suite 420, Stockton, CA  95203


     LAFCo Home

James E. Glaser
Executive Officer


Telephone: (209) 468-3198
Fax: (209) 468-3199

    About San Joaquin LAFCO

    Frequently Asked Questions

        Meeting Schedule

    Policies and Procedures 
 Filing Requirements and
Application Submission

     Application (Word)
     Map Preparation Instructions
Out-of-Agency Application 
Schedule of Fees 
    State Board of Equalization Fees
    City Sphere of Influence Maps

Municipal Service Reviews











                                                        About San Joaquin LAFCO

Established by State law in 1963, the Local Agency Formation Commission is responsible for coordinating logical and timely changes in local governmental boundaries, including: annexations and detachments of territory; incorporations of cities; formations of special districts; and consolidations, mergers, and dissolutions of districts. LAFCO also reviews ways to reorganize, simplify, and streamline governmental structure. LAFCO also has the authority to initiate proposals involving district consolidation, mergers, and reorganizations. In addition, LAFCO is responsible for reviewing Out-of-Agency service agreements between property owners and service providers.

The Commission also is charged with developing and updating spheres of influence for each city and special district within the county. Spheres are planning tools used to provide guidance for individual proposals involving jurisdictional changes, and are intended to encourage efficient provision of community services and prevent duplication of service delivery. Territory must be within a city or district's sphere in order to be annexed.

"To encourage the orderly development and reorganization of Local Governmental Agencies, to preserve agricultural land, and to discourage urban sprawl"

Back to top

Commission Members
The Commission is comprised of five regular members and three alternate members appointed to four-year terms. The current Commission members are:

Regular Members: Telephone
Elden "Red" Nutt City Member, Ripon (209) 599-6660
Ken Vogel Board of Supervisors Member (209) 468-3113
Steven B. Nilssen, Chairman Public Member (209) 366-5365
Larry Ruhstaller Board of Supervisors Member (209) 468-3113
Michael Maciel, Vice Chair City Member, Tracy (209) 831-6000

Alternate Members
Patrick F. Stockar Public Member (209) 333-7301
Steve Bestolarides Board of Supervisors Member (209) 468-3113
Phil Katzakian City Member, Lodi (209) 333-6702

Commission members serve four-year terms that expire the first Monday in May.

Selection Process
San Joaquin LAFCO Commission consists of a five-members.  The Board of Supervisors selects 2 LAFCO Commissioners from their own membership.  A City Selection Committee consisting of Mayors of all 7 Cities within the County select 2 LAFCo Commissioners from City Council Members of all such Cities.  The 4 Members so selected, select another Commissioner to represent the General Public.   The three above categories each have an Alternate Member selected in the same manner.

On May 1, 1991, the City Selection Committee adopted a 4-Year Rotation Plan for regular City Commission members.  The order of City rotation is as follows: Escalon, Stockton, Manteca, Lathrop, Ripon, Tracy, and Lodi.

Starting with May 2007 the 4-Year Rotation will be:

Year Member (1)      Member (2)     Alternate
2007 Manteca Stockton Lathrop
2009 Manteca Lathrop Ripon
2011 Ripon Lathrop Tracy  
2013 Ripon Tracy  Lodi  
2015 Lodi  Tracy  Escalon
2017 Lodi Escalon Stockton
2019 Stockton Escalon Manteca
2021 Stockton Manteca Lathrop
2023 Lathrop Manteca Ripon
2025 Lathrop Ripon Tracy


Office Location

Our office is located at:
San Joaquin Local Agency Formation Commission
509 West Weber Avenue, Suite 420
Stockton, California 95203
Business Hours:   8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday


Executive Officer
James Glaser
(209) 468-3198 
LAFCo Analyst
Elizabeth Contreras
(209) 953-7646

Commission Clerk

Legal Counsel
Thomas Shephard, Sr.
Neumiller & Beardslee
509 West Weber Avenue
P.O. Box 20
Stockton, CA  95201

(209) 948-8200  
Fax (209) 948-4910


Effective June 2014, the Commission will meet on the second Thursday of each month at 9:00 A.M. in the Board of Supervisors Chambers, 44 North San Joaquin Street, 6th Floor, Stockton, California.  Occasionally conflicts will arise requiring adjustment to the regular schedule.  Filing deadlines apply for most applications.  Special circumstances for some complex proposals may require greater lead-time.  

The Board of Supervisors Chambers
44 North San Joaquin Street, 6th Floor
Stockton, California 95202

                           2014 MEETING SCHEDULE                                                    

  2014 Meeting Dates   Deadline For Filing  
  January 17 November 22, 2013
  February 21 December 27, 2013
  March meeting combined with February  
  April 18 February 21, 2013
  May 16 March 21, 2013
  June 12 April 17, 2013
  July 10 May 15, 2013
  August 14 June 19, 2013
  September 11 July 16, 2013
  October 9 August 14, 2013
  (November meeting combined with December)
  December 10 October 16, 2013



    Traduzca esta paginación |  Legal and Privacy Information
© San Joaquin County 2013


    Traduzca esta paginación |  Legal and Privacy Information
© San Joaquin County 2013