CCW License
CCW Home           Instructions          Permit Process         Requirements         Applicable Laws        CCW Vendors


INSTRUCTIONS FOR ALL APPLICANTS



Failure to comply with these instructions may result in delays in processing your application.

There are four steps to complete this process:

  • Complete and print the Department of Justice application (Click here for application)
  • Print and complete the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office forms (Click here for form)
  • Compile supporting documents if applicable
  • Contact the CCW Unit at (209) 468-4342 to arrange an interview appointment (Walk-ins will not be accepted without an appointment)

All Applicants

The following instructions apply to all applicants. For Business applicants and renewal applicants, see instructions that apply.

Residency

 

You must be a full-time resident within the county of San Joaquin or a city within San Joaquin County.

 

Documents

 

Type or print in black ink only. If the application is not legible, it will be returned.

The following items/documents are required at the time of interview:

  • Standard Department of Justice application
  • San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office forms
  • Copy of your valid California Driver's License
  • Copies of two of your most recent utility bills or any other sufficient proof of your full-time residency within the County of San Joaquin as indicated on your application
  • Copy of military discharge DD214 form, if applicable
  • Good cause statement
  • If applicable, documents in support of your request i.e., business related

 

 

Interview Appointment:

When the application is complete, call the CCW Unit at (209) 468-4342 to schedule an appointment for your CCW interview. Applications must be submitted in person. The interview consists of a review of the completed application and supporting documents.

Fees for CCW Permits:

New Application Fees:

  • $19.00 filing fee (Check, cashier’s check or money order only) made payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office. Non refundable. 

 

  • Additional fees are also required by the State of California Department of Justice for fingerprinting, criminal history clearance, and firearms eligibility. $128.00 (Check, cashier’s check or money order only) made payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office

 

Fees-After Approval of New Application:

  • $76.00 fee for all new, approved applicants upon issuance of the concealed weapon permit. Check, cashier’s check or money order only, made payable to San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office

 

 

Fees for Renewals of Existing Permits:

  • $77.00 renewal fee made payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office (Check, cashier’s check or money order only).

 

Business Applicants

 If you are applying for a CCW license for business-related purposes, you must provide the following information in addition to the Instructions for All Applicants listed above.

  • Copies of any licenses required by local, state and/or federal business and professional codes. It is your responsibility to make sure that you have complied with all licensing requirements. Applicants who operate a business from their residence should check with their local jurisdiction regarding business licenses.
  • Partner(s)/corporate offices statement providing authorization. Partner letter should state if partnership dissolves they will notify this office immediately upon separation.
  • Employer authorization (on company letterhead) specifying duties and/or assignments, which establish need. Employer letter must state they will notify this office immediately upon separation or the need no longer exists.
  • Business owner applicants must provide copies of bank receipts/statements showing CASH deposits within the last two months.

Renewal Applications

You are responsible for renewing your CCW license BEFORE your current license expires.

PLEASE NOTE!
All renewal applicants are required to attend a brief interview when renewing your application. All applications must be submitted in person. Please call the CCW Unit at (209) 468-4342 to schedule an appointment when you have acquired all the proper documentation and your application is complete.

The following items/completed documents are required at the time of your renewal interview:

  • Updated Good Cause justification. The good cause should specify why a CCW license is still needed. If you have questions concerning good cause please feel free to contact the CCW Unit prior to submitting your application.
  • Standard Department of Justice application
  • San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office forms
  • Copy of your valid California Driver's License.
  • Copies of two of your most recent utility bills or any other sufficient proof of your full-time residency within the County of San Joaquin as indicated on your application.

Business Renewal Applicants

 In addition to the instructions for renewal applications, business renewal applicants must provide updated documents for their file when renewing their licenses.

  • Copies of any licenses required by local, state and/or federal business and professional codes. It is your responsibility to make sure that you have complied with all licensing requirements. Applicants who operate a business from their residence should check with their local jurisdiction regarding business licenses. 
  • Partner(s)/corporate offices statement providing authorization. Partner letter should state if partnership dissolves they will notify this office immediately upon separation.
  • Employer authorization (on company letterhead) specifying duties and/or assignments, which establish need. Employer letter must state they will notify this office immediately upon separation or the need no longer exists. Any restrictions the employer may wish to impose on the license must also be stated.
  • Business owner applicants must provide copies of bank receipts/statements showing CASH deposits within the last two months.

LIMITED BUSINESS LICENSE TO CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON

 

A. The authority to issue a limited business license to carry a concealed weapon to a non-resident applicant is granted to the Sheriff of the county in which the applicant works. (California Penal Code §§26150(a)(3), 26220(b)).  

 

B.  An individual who is not a resident of San Joaquin County may apply for a limited license subject to approval of the Sheriff and the following:

 

1.      The applicant satisfies all of the qualifications below:

 

Be of legal age.

 

Complete an application that will include substantial personal information, much of

which may be subject to public access under the Public Records Act.

 

Be free from criminal convictions or other prohibiting conditions that would

disqualify the applicant from carrying a concealed weapon.

 

Provide fingerprints and successfully complete a criminal background check.

 

Have been determined to be of good moral character.

 

Have been determined to possess good cause for the issuance of the license.

 

Pay all required fees in the manner prescribed in this policy. These fees are set by

statute and may not be refunded if the application is denied.

 

Complete the required training.

 

Applicants applying for business-related reasons must provide a letter of endorsement

from their employer, supervisor and/or manager, expressing support for the applicant being issued a CCW license. This letter must also state that the applicant will be permitted to carry the firearm during the normal course of business.

                

             2. The applicant physically spends a substantial period of working hours in the applicant's

principal place of employment or business within the County of San Joaquin;

 

3.  A limited business license will be valid for a period not to exceed 90 days from the date of issuance;

 

4.  A limited business license issued by this Office is only valid in this County;

 

5.  The Office will notify the applicant verbally and in writing in at least 16-point type that:

 

The applicant must provide a copy of the license to the licensing authority of the city or county in which the applicant resides;

 

6.   Any application for renewal or re-issuance of such a license may be granted only upon concurrence of the Office and the licensing authority of the city or county in which the applicant resides.

 

C.  An individual who submits an application for a limited business license under this section shall complete all phases of the application process outline above.

CCW License Modification

CCW licensees may request their licenses be amended for the following reasons:

  • Adding or deleting a particular firearm capable of being concealed upon the person
    Licensees are limited to a total of 3 firearms per CCW license
  • Changing an address within San Joaquin County
    The license shall be amended to reflect the new address and a new license shall be issued
    The licensee shall notify the licensing authority in writing within 10 days of any change in the licensee's place of residence.

An amendment to the license does not extend the original expiration date of the license and the license shall be subject to renewal at the same time as if the license had not been amended.

Modification fees are due when the license is amended
Payment of fees will be in the form of a check, money order or cashier's check, payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office, for each amended license in the amount of $10.00.

 

 




Home   |   Legal and Privacy Information   |   Employee Access Only   |   Webmaster