CCW License
CCW Home           Instructions          Permit Process         Requirements         Applicable Laws        CCW Vendors


CCW PERMIT PROCESS

 

 

Issuance Criteria For Consideration Pursuant to California Penal Code § 26150 - 26225:

 

• Proof that the person applying is of good moral character

• Proof that good cause exists for the issuance  (see Requirements)

• Proof that the person applying is a resident of the county or a city within the county.

• Proof that the person applying has completed at least a 16-hour course of training including instruction on firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm

• Proof of no statutory prohibitions

 

Conditions After Issuance of Approved Permits:

• No firearm is permitted to be carried unless qualification documentation is on file with this department and the weapon is listed on the CCW Permit.

 

• Permit holders must report to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office within 10 days of any arrest of the permit holder, or any contact by law enforcement or incident involving the firearm.

 

• Permit holders must report to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office within 10 days of any change in residency.

 

• No illegal drug use.

 

• Prior to renewal, permit holders must complete a legal firearms update refresher course offered by any local range or security academy every other year. The course of training shall be no less than four (4) hours including instruction on firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm

 

Violations of these conditions will result in the revocation of the concealed weapons permit.

 

Restrictions Applicable to All San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office Permit Holders

 

• While carrying a weapon, no alcohol consumption is permitted.

 

• No carrying a permitted weapon where weapons are prohibited by law.

 

• No permitted weapon is allowed at locations where a sign is posted prohibiting weapons.

 

• The Sheriff may impose additional restrictions.

 

• During any law enforcement contact, you are required to disclose your status as a CCW permit holder and you must disclose whether or not you are carrying a weapon on your person or in your vehicle.

 

Failure of the permit holder to adhere to these restrictions will result in the revocation of the concealed weapons permit.

 

New Application Fees:

$19.00 filing fee (Check, cashier’s check or money order only) made payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office. Non refundable.  

 

Additional fees are also required by the State of California Department of Justice for fingerprinting, criminal history clearance, and firearms eligibility. $128.00 (Check, cashier’s check or money order only) made payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office

 

Fees-After Approval of New Application:

$76.00 fee for all new, approved applicants upon issuance of the concealed weapon permit. Check, cashier’s check or money order only, made payable to San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office

 

Fees for Renewals of Existing Permits:

$77.00 renewal fee made payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office (Check, cashier’s check or money order only).

 

All renewal and newly approved applicants are processed by appointment only.

 

San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office

Professional Standards Division

7000 Michael N. Canlis Blvd

French Camp, CA 95231

209-468-4342

 

Modification of Existing Permits:

$10.00 fee for ALL modifications to existing permits. Check, cashier’s check or money order only made payable to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office.

 

 

Denial of Application/Appeals Process:

 

All applicants will receive notice, in writing, regarding the approval or denial of their application. Applicants who are denied a concealed weapons permit will be advised of the reason for the denial.  Applicants may appeal if their application for a permit is denied. All appeals must be submitted in writing to:

 

San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office

7000 Michael N Canlis Blvd.

French Camp, CA 95231

Attn: Professional Standards/CCW

 

 

Written appeals should be specific, clearly outlining the applicant’s rebuttal to the reason stated for denial. Additional information, which may be pertinent to the applicant’s request for a permit should also be included.

 

Note: Appeals must be received by the Sheriff’s Department no later than (30) thirty days from the date of the notification letter.

 

Revocation of Application/Appeals Process:

 

• The Sheriff retains the authority to revoke a CCW permit at any time.

 

• CCW holders who have been revoked of their privilege will be notified in writing of the revocation. Revocations may be appealed in writing, within thirty (30) days from the date of the revocation letter, to:

 

San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office

7000 Michael N Canlis Blvd.

French Camp, CA 95231

Attn: Professional Standards/CCW

 

Additional Information:

For additional information or questions regarding the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office concealed weapons permit process, please contact the Professional Standards Division at (209) 468-4342.

 




Home   |   Legal and Privacy Information   |   Employee Access Only   |   Webmaster