How Much Hazardous Material Can my Business Generate per
Month and Still Qualify?
Less than 220 pounds of most hazardous
chemicals. (Approximately 27 gallons of liquid.)
Less than 2.2 pounds of certain original,
unused products, e.g., acutely hazardous wastes. (Approximately one quart
Less than 110 pounds of perchloroethylene
(Approximately 13 gallons of liquid.)
Appointments to deliver hazardous materials for
proper disposal and recycling are scheduled on a first-come,
first-served basis. Businesses should call (800) 207-8222 to schedule an
to drop off waste at the San Joaquin County Household Hazardous Waste Facility
located at 7850 R.A. Bridgeford Road by the Stockton Airport. Businesses
will be asked for the types and amounts of waste that are generated in order to
determine if the business qualifies for the program. If the business qualifies, an appointment
will be scheduled.
When you call to register your business as a
CESQG, the following
information will be required:
Name, address, and phone number of your company.
How much waste you generate per month, per year.
Chemical name or trade name of the waste.
How much waste was generated and any possible
Size, type, and number of containers that the
waste will be brought in.
Percentage of chemical constituents in the waste.
Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) are often
your best source of information regarding the potentially hazardous products you
use. MSDSs are available from product suppliers.
What will it cost?
Your costs will depend on your waste types. Disposal costs
may be considerably lower than what you pay now. Please see the
brochure for the current price list by material. Pickup services are available for an additional charge.
It is your responsibility to know the local,
state, and federal regulations regarding the storage, disposal, and
transportation of hazardous waste. For more information contact the San Joaquin County office of Environmental health at 468-3420 or visit www.sjcehd.com.
May I store hazardous materials?
A CESGQ with less than 100 kilograms (220 pounds)
of hazardous waste may store the waste indefinitely. Once you accumulate 100
kg., you may store it up to 90 days. After 90 days, you must send your waste to
a licensed recycling or disposal facility (California Health and Safety Code,
May I transport hazardous materials?
California law allows self-haul of up to 15
gallons or 125 pounds of your own hazardous waste at one time. An exception is
made for used oil; you may haul up to 55 gallons of used oil at one time. Bring wastes in non-leaking, preferably original containers.
Transport all wastes away from the passenger area of your vehicle.
EPA ID Numbers
State law requires hazardous waste generators to
have an EPA Identification Number. For more information about
EPA ID Numbers,
click on the links or call CalEPA Department of Toxic Substances Control at 1-800-618-6942. You do not
need an EPA ID Number to use the CESQG Collection Program for the first time,
but you do need one to make a second appointment to use the drop-off or pick-up